Need Help During COVID-19? Download Our Free E-Book

Premier Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Legal Advocacy In Maryland


Please visit our contact page and reach us by submitting our online form. Our office will be in touch with you shortly.


What are the penalties in Maryland for repeat drug DUI convictions?

On Behalf of | Jul 5, 2022 | dui/dwi |

In Maryland, impaired driving whether it stems from alcohol or drugs is illegal. However, when most people hear the phrase “DUI,” they think about those who mix alcohol use and driving. Maryland drivers can be charged with a DUI even if they don’t have any alcohol in their system. Being impaired by drugs, even legal drugs or marijuana, and driving can lead to a DUI charge.

There are two “impaired while driving” charges in Maryland involving drugs – DUI and DWI. This blog post focuses on Ocean City, Maryland DUI drug-related penalties. A discussion of the penalties for repeat drug DWI convictions is available at this link.

DUI stands for “driving under the influence.” A DUI is a more serious offense than a DWI.

Drug DUI charges can carry two types of penalties:

  • Administrative penalties such as license suspension and points
  • Criminal penalties such as fines and jail time

The penalties vary depending on whether the conviction is for a first or second or even a third Ocean City, Maryland DUI conviction.

Penalties for a first time Ocean City, Maryland drug DUI conviction

Those convicted in Ocean City for a first-time DUI offense can see the following punishments:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to one year in jail (There is no mandatory minimum required jail time but incarceration is a possibility)
  • MVA penalties such as points and license suspension
  • A misdemeanor

Penalties for a second Ocean City, Maryland drug DUI conviction

Those convicted in Ocean City, Maryland for a second offense could see:

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Up to two years imprisonment with a mandatory minimum of five days
  • MVA penalties such as points and license suspension
  • A misdemeanor

Penalties for a third Ocean City, Maryland drug DUI conviction

  • Fines up to $3,000
  • Up to three years of imprisonment
  • MVA penalties such as points and license revocation
  • A misdemeanor

Convictions that are within five years of each other have additional requirements:

  • Mandatory minimum jail time from five to 10 days or community service from 30 to 60 days
  • Mandatory alcohol or drug abuse assessment

Can you get convicted for using prescription drugs?

Yes. If your ability to drive is impaired and you drive, you could end up with a Maryland DUI conviction based on use of legal and/or over-the-counter drugs. The citation will say that you were driving while impaired by drugs or a controlled dangerous substance.

How is a Maryland drug DUI traffic stop handled?

Law enforcement observes the vehicle. When the officer stops the car, they observe the driver. If the possibility of alcohol is removed, then a drug recognition expert will probably be contacted. The drug recognition expert will conduct an exam that might include blood tests.

An Ocean City, Maryland DUI drug attorney can help you with your charges. An Ocean City opiate DUI lawyer will review your case to determine if the charges can be reduced or dismissed or whether a probation before judgment is possible. The attorneys at Maronick Law LLC have experience fighting Ocean City, Maryland drug DUI charges. The office is open during the pandemic and will continue to meet your Glen Burnie, Annapolis, Baltimore, Essex, Ocean City, Towson, White Marsh DUI legal needs. The consultation is free.

We can meet with you remotely if you have access to Zoom. You can contact Thomas Maronick on his cellphone at 202.288.0167, the law office at 410.881.4022 or through the website for a free consultation.



FindLaw Network

Work With A Firm That Delivers Results