Need Help During COVID-19? Download Our Free E-Book

Premier Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Legal Advocacy In Maryland


Please visit our contact page and reach us by submitting our online form. Our office will be in touch with you shortly.


Providing The Tough Felony Defense You Need In Maryland

A felony conviction will change your life permanently in a negative fashion. At Maronick Law LLC, we understand how critical it is to act swiftly and aggressively against these charges.

Our team brings over 80 years of combined experience to your case. Our personal, client-focused approach ensures you feel comfortable and confident about your defense strategy.

You’ve got an ally in your corner. Schedule a free consultation today at 410-881-4022.

What Is The Difference Between A Misdemeanor And A Felony?

Felonies are classified as a more serious criminal charge in Maryland than a misdemeanor. As such, a felony conviction typically results in larger fines and longer prison sentences than a misdemeanor.

Our dedicated team of criminal defense attorneys represents clients across Maryland facing felony charges, including:

  • First-degree murder/homicide
  • Property crimes, including arson
  • Robbery and theft exceeding $1,000
  • Most sex crimes, including rape
  • Sexual assault
  • White collar crimes, including fraud

Being convicted of any felony sex crime in Maryland will require you to register as a sex offender.

What Is The Difference Between First-Degree Assault And Second-Degree Assault?

The laws surrounding first- and second-degree assault are articulated under S3-202 and S3-203, respectively.

First-degree assault is a more serious felony charge that occurs when someone causes or tries to cause “serious physical injury.” A conviction could result in up to 25 years in prison.

Second-degree assault, while less severe than first-degree assault, still carries significant consequences if convicted. Defined as an attempt to inflict bodily harm, second-degree assault can result in up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.

Second-degree assault is typically a misdemeanor. However, if the assault occurs against a police officer, probation officer or someone providing emergency services, the charge becomes a felony.

Speak With A Dedicated Felony Defense Attorney Today

You have rights. We’ll work to make sure they are protected. Schedule your free consultation today by calling 410-881-4022. You may also email our team online. We have seven offices throughout Maryland for your convenience.

With eight offices across the state, we represent clients anywhere in Maryland, including Glen Burnie, Baltimore, Ocean City, Hartford and Towson.

Work With A Firm That Delivers Results