Need Help During COVID-19? Download Our Free E-Book

Premier Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Legal Advocacy In Maryland


Please visit our contact page and reach us by submitting our online form. Our office will be in touch with you shortly.


What are the penalties for repeat DWI charges in Maryland?

On Behalf of | Jun 3, 2022 | dui/dwi |

Maryland’s politicians are serious about cracking down on impaired driving. They changed the laws in 2019, increasing the maximum penalties for repeated incidences of impaired driving.

Enhancing the punishment for multiple instances of drunk driving was a priority for Republican Gov. Larry Hogan. He introduced the bill several times until it became law.

Two types of Maryland drunk driving charges

There are two basic drunk driving charges in Maryland – DUI and DWI. “DUI” stands for driving under the influence and “DWI” stands for driving while intoxicated. This blog post focuses on Ocean City DWI penalties related to alcohol. Another blog post discusses alcohol-related Maryland DUI penalties.

A DWI is a lesser offense than a DUI. The difference stems from the amount of alcohol in your blood at the time you are pulled over by an officer who believes you are guilty of drunk or impaired driving.

If a police officer suspects that you are operating a vehicle while impaired, the officer will request that you submit to a field sobriety test or a portable breath test. A DWI can be charged when a driver’s blood alcohol is measured at .04% to .07%, DUIs start at .08%.

Maryland DWI penalties

Penalties for Ocean City, Maryland DWI convictions vary depending on whether it is a first or a repeat offense. Obviously, penalties and fines increase in instances of repeat convictions.

Penalties for the first Ocean City, Maryland DWI conviction

A first offense DWI can result in:

  • Fines up to $500
  • Up to two months imprisonment (although jail time isn’t mandatory and rarely happens with a first offense)
  • Eight points assessed against your driving record
  • A possible 6-month license suspension
  • Offense categorized as a misdemeanor

Penalties for the second Ocean City, Maryland DWI conviction

For a second DWI conviction, those convicted face:

  • Fines up to $500 fine
  • Up to one year in prison
  • Eight points assessed against the driving record
  • Possible license suspension of up to 12 months
  • Offense categorized as a misdemeanor

Penalties for the third Ocean City, Maryland DWI conviction

Those convicted for a third time could see:

  • Fines up to $3,000
  • Up to three years jail time
  • MVA administrative penalties such as points and license revocation
  • Offense categorized as a misdemeanor

There are additional penalties for convictions that occur within a short period of time. Convictions within five years of each other have additional requirements:

  • Mandatory minimum jail time from five to 10 days or community service from 30 to 60 days
  • Mandatory alcohol or drug abuse assessment

An Ocean City, Maryland DWI attorney can help you with your DWI charge. An Ocean City DWI attorney will review your case to determine if the charge can be reduced or dismissed. Probation before judgment is also a possibility. The attorneys at Maronick Law LLC have experience fighting Ocean City, Maryland DWI charges. The office is open during the pandemic and will continue to meet your Glen Burnie, Annapolis, Baltimore, Essex, Ocean City, Towson, White Marsh DUI legal needs. The consultation is free.

We can meet with you remotely if you have access to Zoom. You can contact Thomas Maronick on his cellphone at 202.288.0167, the law office at 410.881.3007 or through the website for a free consultation.



FindLaw Network

Work With A Firm That Delivers Results