A former teacher at a Baltimore City school has denied charges that he sexually abused a student for three years. The man recently posted a statement to his social media proclaiming his innocence, according to reporting by the Baltimore Banner. He faces 16 counts including sexual abuse of a minor, rape and related offenses.
The trial is scheduled to begin August 16.
Maryland has several laws that criminalize sexual behavior with children. There are also specific laws in Maryland regarding sex crimes by teachers and other school employees. Although the age of consent in Maryland is 16, it is a criminal offense under Maryland law for teachers and school employees over the age of 21 to engage in sexual activity with school students under the age of 18 who are under the authority of the school official.
Penalties for Inappropriate Teacher/Student Contact
There are several punishments for school workers who are convicted of engaging in a sex crime in Maryland.
Teachers or other school employees who engage in sexual activities with students can be sentenced to:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of up to $1,000 or
- Both jail and a fine
Second convictions are punishable by up to three years in prison.
People in Maryland who are convicted of subsequent crimes involving sex with underage children may be sentenced to life imprisonment.
State Sex offender registry
In addition to jail time and fines, people who are convicted of statutory rape and related crimes are required to register as sex offenders for at least 15 years.
In some instances, sex crime offenders must stay on the registry even longer — for 25 years or for the length of their life.
Most offenses carry the responsibility to register every three or six months.
Federal sex offender registry
In addition to the Maryland state database, the names of all registered sex offenders are also kept in a federal sex offender database.
Loss of teaching license
Teachers also face the loss of their license to teach if they are convicted of a sex crime.
Age mistake not a defense
In Maryland, as in most states, the fact that the defendant mistakenly believed the child to be of age is not a defense to statutory rape or a similar sex crime. For example, even if the child is underage and lied about his or her age to the defendant and others, that is no defense to this type of crime.
What the state has to prove
When charged with a Maryland sex crime, the state has the responsibility to prove that defendants are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. However, sex crimes are not popular, and jurors are likely to have preconceived notions.
If you are charged with a sex crime in Maryland, you should talk to a Maryland criminal defense attorney. An Ocean City sex crimes attorney can help. A Baltimore sex crimes lawyer can get the charges reduced or work out a plea bargain, among other defense options. Maronick Law LLC is open during the pandemic and will continue to meet your Glen Burnie, Annapolis, Baltimore, Essex, Ocean City, Towson, White Marsh cannabis charges needs. The consultation is free.
We can meet with you remotely if you have access to Zoom. You can contact the law office at 410-881-4022 or through the website for a free consultation.