Need Help During COVID-19? Download Our Free E-Book

Premier Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Legal Advocacy In Maryland

SCHEDULE A CASE REVIEW

Please visit our contact page and reach us by submitting our online form. Our office will be in touch with you shortly.

 

Will I go to jail for my first DUI?

On Behalf of | Aug 12, 2022 | blog, dui/dwi |

If you are convicted of your first DUI offense in Maryland, you may face a variety of penalties. These may include a license suspension, a fine and the need to attend traffic school. It’s also possible that you will spend time in jail even if you have no prior record of impaired driving.

A jail sentence will depend on several factors

For a first offense, you can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail. If you were transporting a minor in your vehicle while impaired, another 12 months may be added to your sentence. If authorities cannot prove that your blood alcohol content was higher than .08, you will likely be charged with DWI. A conviction for DWI comes with a jail sentence of up to two months.

You might be sentenced to community service instead

Depending on the facts of your case, you may be sentenced to community service or some other type of alternate punishment. This would allow you to remain employed, take care of your kids or otherwise avoid a significant interruption to your life. If you’re able to mount a credible criminal defense to the charge, it may be possible to have it reduced or dismissed. If a charge is reduced or dismissed, you may not have to worry about spending time in jail or doing community service.

A DUI conviction may result in a number of negative consequences including the inability to work or be available for your kids. However, it may be possible to avoid a conviction by casting doubt on evidence used to take you into custody.

Archives

Categories

FindLaw Network

Work With A Firm That Delivers Results