In Maryland, there is not one answer. It depends.
If you are traveling 1-9 miles per hour over the speed limit, you would be assessed 1 point upon conviction. That goes up to 3 points if you are speeding and involved in an accident.
If you are traveling 10-19 miles per hour over the speed limit, it is 2 points. This also carries 3 points if there is an accident.
If you are traveling 85 miles per hour in a 65 mile per hour zone, or 20 miles per hour over the posted speed, you’re facing 5 points whether there was an accident or not.
You can also get a 1-point ticket for driving BELOW the speed limit, if you are impeding traffic.
Points stay on your record for 2 years. Not only can they affect your car insurance premiums, but they can impact your ability to drive at all! Under the points system in Maryland, if a driver accumulates over 8 points, their Maryland license will be suspended. Get 12 points? Your license will be revoked… meaning you lose the privilege to drive in Maryland.
If you receive any traffic tickets, you should contact an attorney to discuss strategies to minimize the potential impacts and to guide you through the MVA process. Maronick Law is here for you. And we’re ready to listen.