A Baltimore man in Ocean City, Maryland was recently charged with assault because of his actions in the Maryland seaside town.
Ocean City police were called about a disturbance on 34th Street near the Coastal Highway and saw a man on the sidewalk looking up at a couple on a second-floor condo balcony and pointing a handgun at them, according to a news report.
Last year, four suspects were charged with armed robbery and first-degree assault after an incident on the Ocean City, Maryland boardwalk involving a shotgun. A woman and her 10-year-old niece told police that she and her niece were held at gunpoint and robbed late one night while at the popular seaside city.
Assault charges often stem from some type of dispute or altercation.
Assault is defined in Maryland law as the offensive touching of another person without consent that places that person in immediate fear. If you are involved in a disturbance that escalates into a physical altercation and the other person involved truly believes they are in immediate danger then that is an assault.
Or to use another definition, assault is the attempted touching of another person, without that person’s consent. It includes the act of placing someone in fear of an intentional touching.
In many instances, if someone hits you and you hit them back, you can be charged with assault.
You’ve probably heard the phrase “assault and battery.” Battery is the unlawful and offensive touching of another person without that person’s consent. Under Maryland law, an assault includes the crimes of assault, battery, and assault and battery.
Maryland assault charges are broken down into two categories: first-degree assault and second-degree assault. Second-degree assault is not as serious as first-degree assault.
First-degree assault occurs when there is an attempt or an actual serious physical injury. Serious physical injury can include a substantial risk of death, disfigurement or loss or impairment of a limb or organ. It can happen through actual physical contact or the use of a weapon. For example, if you get into a fight with another person and you break a bone, you will probably be charged with first degree assault. In instances where the physical threat comes from a firearm or weapon, that could be considered first-degree assault. For example, if you pull a gun or some other type of weapon on another person.
Second-degree assault is an offensive touching or an attempt to cause offensive physical contact. There might be a minor, but not serious, physical injury. Second-degree assault is a misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for second-degree assault in Maryland is 10 years. However, if the assault was committed on a police office, probation officer or some other type of law enforcement officer, then the assault charge will be entered as a felony.
The state proves assault by the prosecutor calling the alleged victim to testify. The victim will have to testify that they were either physically injured or threatened in such a manner that was offensive to them and that they believe that there was a substantial risk of injury or death.
Self-defense can be a defense to an assault charge.
If you are charged with assault in Ocean City or Baltimore, you should talk to a Baltimore criminal defense attorney. An Ocean City assault lawyer can arrange for the charge to be pled down to something less serious. For instance, if you were originally charged with second-degree assault and you have a clean or fairly clean criminal history and the prosecution agrees, the charges can be reduced to misdemeanor reckless endangerment or a disorderly charge. The attorneys at The Law Offices of Thomas J. Maronick have experience handling these cases and can provide more information. The consultation is free.
The Law Office of Thomas J. Maronick is open during the pandemic and will continue to meet your Glen, Burnie, Annapolis, Baltimore, Essex, Ocean City, Towson, White Marsh legal needs. We can meet with you remotely if you have access to Zoom. You can contact Thomas Maronick on his cellphone at 202.288.0167, the law office at 410-881-4022 or via our website for a free consultation.