It is illegal in all states to drive under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol. While penalties in each state vary, many of them have aggravating factors that increase penalties. Drivers in Ocean City, Maryland, who have been pulled over can get increased penalties for an aggravated DUI.
Overview of aggravated DUI
A standard driver is commonly considered intoxicated with a blood alcohol content level of .08 or more. A driver doesn’t have to register .08 to get charged with a DWI if they show signs of intoxication. A DWI commonly gets lighter penalties than a DUI, and the prosecution only needs evidence of the driver’s coordination was impaired.
A BAC of .015 or greater is commonly considered an aggravated DUI, which enhances the penalties even for a first offense. Aggravating DUI factors include speeding, having a minor in the vehicle, reckless driving, property damage, and past convictions.
Aggravated DUI penalties
Maryland has stiffened the penalties for causing death or injury and for repeat offenders under new laws. The previous sentence for DUI-related deaths was up to five years behind bars, but now it has increased to a 10-year maximum and/or a $10,000 fine.
Repeat offenders face a one-year license suspension and must take part in the Ignition Interlock Device program after the suspension is lifted. Drivers who carried a minor passenger at the time of their DUI may get up to one year in jail and $1,000 fine. Penalties for a BAC of .15 or higher include a 180-day license suspension, and they will be required to install an ignition interlock device.