Test Can I Refuse A Breathalyzer Test In Maryland?
Getting a driver’s license in Maryland or driving on the roads in this state means you agree to submit to a chemical test if suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). This is what is meant by “implied consent” regarding the Breathalyzer test.
However, some drivers have a strong aversion to taking a sobriety test at the time of a traffic stop. Maybe they fear such a test will show they have been drinking, perhaps they feel such tests are too intrusive, or maybe they distrust the validity of the tests.
In the heat of the moment after a law enforcement agent stopped you, you may have refused to submit to a Breathalyzer, blood or urine test. Now you urgently need legal advice and advocacy. For a free consultation on Breathalyzer Test Refusal throughout Maryland, call Maronick Law LLC at 410-881-4022 now.
What Are The Consequences For Refusing A Breathalyzer?
The laws in Maryland stipulate that you may have your driver’s license suspended for 270 days for refusing a breath test the first time. The penalties ramp up to a year if you refuse a second time.
In either situation, your only hope of recovering your driving privileges sooner is to request an administrative hearing. There may be other holes in the case against you. The administrative hearing is the place to put forth these arguments compellingly. An experienced DUI defense attorney can guide you through this process.
CDL Holders Could Face Even Greater Penalties
Commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders could see much more severe consequences for refusing a breath, blood or urine test. You may lose your driving privileges for a year after refusing the test once or permanently after refusing it in a second DUI stop.
Either situation may mean the end of your driving career. If you are a CDL holder deciding whether to take a Breathalyzer test, you should understand these harsh realities if you refuse.
Let Maronick Law LLC Stand Up For You
Our lead defense lawyer, Thomas Maronick Jr, is skilled, aggressive and determined to protect clients’ rights. After a DUI stop or arrest, you can count on our team to review all facts and evidence, seeking the key to representing you effectively at an administrative hearing or before a prosecutor leading up to a trial.
You have 10 days, a small window of time to request an administrative hearing. To protect your freedom and your future as well as you can, contact our firm to get your defense started. Call 410-881-4022 or email us to schedule a free consultation regarding breathalyzer test refusal.
With eight offices across the state, we represent clients anywhere in Maryland, including Glen Burnie, Baltimore, Ocean City, Hartford and Towson.