Need Help During COVID-19? Download Our Free E-Book

Premier Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Legal Advocacy In Maryland


Please visit our contact page and reach us by submitting our online form. Our office will be in touch with you shortly.


Understanding How Workers’ Compensation Works In Maryland

Injured workers in Maryland have a way to obtain payment for injuries they received on the job. The Maryland’s Workers’ Compensation Act requires employers to have workers’ compensation insurance to cover injured workers’ costs.

You may have a workers’ compensation claim if you have been injured on the job. But workers’ compensation claims can be confusing, especially when you are also trying to recover from the pain of an injury. Our experienced attorneys at Maronick Law LLC help clients statewide get the compensation they need and deserve after an injury at work so they can move forward with their lives.

Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you by calling 410-881-4022.

Guiding You Through The Workers’ Compensation Claims Process

Not every accident, injury or illness is covered under Maryland’s workers’ compensation laws. The injury must “arise out of and in the course of employment,” meaning that it occurred when the employee was doing their job, and the work was for the employer’s benefit.

This means that the cause of your accident will play an essential role in your eligibility for compensation. There are some injuries and disabilities that are covered that may not be immediately obvious, including:

  • Eye strain
  • Carpal tunnel syndrome
  • Hearing loss
  • Back pain and disk degeneration
  • Diseases that develop due to job conditions

If you miss more than three days of work after an at-work accident that caused your injury, your employer must file an accident report with the Workers’ Compensation Commission within 10 days of notice of the accident.

After notice is filed, either you or your employer may request a hearing to investigate the claim. The WCC will decide on your case within 30 days of the claim or the hearing. You cannot sue your employer for fault if you have obtained worker’s compensation benefits. If you or your employer are unhappy with the hearing results, you may file an appeal within 30 days.

Helping You Focus On Your Recovery

Our attorneys have decades of experience successfully guiding clients through the workers’ compensation claims process. We will aggressively pursue the benefits and compensation you need so that you can focus on recovering from your injuries. Contact us today to discuss your case at 410-881-4022 or via the online form to schedule a free consultation.

Work With A Firm That Delivers Results