The Shore Legal Team: Defending You Against DUI/DWI Charges In Ocean City
Ocean City, Maryland, is a popular summer vacation hub for many people in the Northeast and mid-Atlantic, and for good reason. Whether it’s fishing for white marlins, relaxing on miles of sunny beaches, shopping on the famous Ocean City boardwalk or partying the night away at Seacrets, there is something for everyone. It’s been said that during the summer, Ocean City becomes the second most populous city in Maryland after Baltimore with upward of 345,000 vacationers coming each weekend.
When travelers come together to have a good time, the police are often not far behind. This may be why Worcester County, in which Ocean City is located, has some of the highest arrest rates for driving under the influence (DUI) and other drunk driving offenses in the entire state.
If the police charge you with DUI, driving while impaired (DWI) or another criminal offense in Ocean City, let the attorneys at Maronick Law LLC defend you. Led by founding attorney Thomas Maronick, our firm consists of a team of experienced, knowledgeable and dedicated trial attorneys who are prepared to defend your rights.
If you’ve been arrested, call now to speak to a criminal defense lawyer at 410-881-4022. We’re available 24/7 to start working on your DUI defense strategy.
Where Do DUI Arrests Occur In Ocean City?
A DUI arrest can occur at any place and at any time. The Coastal Highway is highly trafficked, and patrols are on the lookout for drunk drivers.
Ocean City police may also establish DUI checkpoints. Maryland Route 90 (the Ocean City Expressway) and the Route 50 Bridge are the two ways in and out of Ocean City, making these roads convenient places for the police to establish DUI checkpoints
What Are The Penalties For An Ocean City DUI Conviction?
The penalties for a DUI conviction vary depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest, how many previous convictions are on your record and whether minors were in the car. Penalties may include:
- First DUI offense: This results in fines of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail.
- Second DUI offense: Penalties include fines of up to $2,000 and up to two years in jail with a mandatory minimum five-day prison sentence.
- Repeat offenders: This classification applies to anyone who has multiple DUI arrests in a five-year period. A repeat offender will have their license suspended for one year, after which they must install an ignition interlock device for one year.
A DWI conviction, while still serious, is a more minor offense and has reduced penalties:
- First DWI offense: Repercussions include fines of up to $500 and up to two months in jail.
- Second DWI offense: This earns the offender fines of up to $500 and up to one year in jail.
Penalties are enhanced if you are transporting a minor or for a third offense.
DUI Arrests For Out-Of-State Tourists
Many individuals arrested for DUI in Ocean City are not Maryland residents. While Maryland cannot directly revoke your driving privileges, they may inform your home state of your arrest.
Maryland, along with 45 other states, is a member of the Driver License Compact. This means that if your driving privileges are revoked in Maryland, it will forward the information to your home state if it is also a member of the compact.
About Our Ocean City Office
Our Ocean City office is located at 5000 Coastal Highway, suite 5. We are one mile away from the District Courthouse and the Ocean City Police Department, allowing us easy access to serve our clients in court or in jail.
We welcome appointments in our office. If you are unable to travel to our office, we offer phone and video initial consultations for your convenience.
If you’re facing DUI, DWI or another drunk-driving related charge in Ocean City, call 410-881-4022 or email our team for a free, no-obligation consultation. Our team is available 24/7, including weekends, to develop a strong defense plan that seeks to protect your rights and preserve your future.